The Fujinon XF 18-55mm – A Wide Angle Portrait

I had a rare opportunity to catch up with my good friend Ash today and before stopping for some lunch I spotted an opportunity for a portrait using some of the colourful street scenery in Newtown. I recently started playing around with the Fujinon XF 18-55mm zoom lens on the X-Pro1. I got this lens for AM to use with her X-E1 but she’s been using and loving the XF 35mm 1.4 so I have a chance to play around with it and test its capabilities.

For several years now I have been a prime lens guy. I find the restrictive nature of a prime forces me to think more outside the box and I end up with more interesting compositions as a result. Typically my primes have been in the range of 35mm to 75mm full frame equivalent. I always had issues with wide angles; maybe I just don’t really see the world at this perspective. Wide angle lenses also inherently distort the image, not flattering when applied to someone’s face. In this particular photo however it seems to have worked, allowing much more of the background to be incorporated and creating the illusion of distance to the background alleyway.

Ash taken with Fujifilm X-Pro1 with Fujinon XF 18-55mm 2.8-4.

I’m impressed with how the 18-55mm performed. I don’t need the super speed when shooting with the speedlight and it’s nice to have the zoom flexibility. I’ll be keeping this lens attached for the next few weeks to give it a thorough test (before the Zeiss 32mm Touit arrives) but initial impressions are very positive. The lens is very sharp. Not that Zeiss 3D level of sharpness but more like the XF 35mm 1.4 and the autofocus is fast and almost completely silent.

I’m shooting some more portraits over the weekend and will continue to push this lens to see what comes out, but I am confident that it will deliver.

Leave a Reply

