Back To Basics – X-Pro1

I met Jess very recently, the singer in a band that I photographed a few weeks ago. I was doing some individual photos for band promotional material which took very little time to complete, so I offered to take some additional photographs just for her. It was a good opportunity to really push my SB-900 flash (into overheating at 1/1 power) as we competed with a bright mid-winter sun.

I am enjoying the challenge of pushing the limits of my lighting equipment. I positioned Jess in between my flash and the sun, which acted as an extremely bright rim light on her hair and created a massive backlit scenario. The flare was unintentional but I find the wash of colour quite beautiful. I was forced to push the SB-900 to full power to create enough light to illuminate her face.

X-Pro1 with Zeiss 50mm Planar ZM

Doing so gave us a chance to chat as the flash inevitably overheated and we were forced to wait as it cooled down. We found a darker place out of direct sunlight and continued.

X-Pro1 with Zeiss 50mm Planar ZM

Both photos were taken with the Zeiss 50mm Planar ZM, my go to lens for the past several months and after several weeks of using the Fujinon XF 18-55mm almost exclusively I am reminded of why I love it. Colours appear naturally warm and the lens is very sharp. In combination with the X-Pro1 I have found a beautiful device for portrait making.

5 comments

    1. Thanks again Rob!

  1. Big Ganga Photography · · Reply

    The tones in the second shot are fantastic.

    1. Thank you for your kind words!

  2. Gorgeous tones Adrian! Great work.

Leave a Reply

